Pourquoi Story


the wisdom of Karl Lagerfeld
March 25, 2009, 4:47 pm
Filed under: Fashion, General

Since we are on the subject, I decide to share some of my favorite quotes from him. They are hilarious. I like the fact that he is bold, harsh and sometimes very un-PC.

“We have no budget, we do what we want and throwing money out the window brings money back in through the front door. The bottom line is that I don’t deal with the bottom line. The luxury in my life is I never have to think about it.” (On Recession)

“In the whole world, there is nowhere I can go. Everybody has a camera, and it is flash-flash-flash, and I am a puppet, a marionette, Mickey at Disneyland for children to play with. In Japan, they touch me. I have Japanese women pinch my ass, so now I must say, ‘You can have the photo, but please don’t touch me.’ You cannot pinch the ass of a man my age!”

“I hated the company of other children. I wanted to be a grownup person, to be taken seriously. I hated the idea of childhood; I thought it was a moment of endless stupidity.” 

“In summer I sleep under a white ermine cover and in winter, under sable.” (When asked what he wore in bed)

“I am never happy. Happiness scares me; then I am afraid to be less happy. Happiness is a very dangerous state of mind.” 

“You eat meat and wear leather, so shut up. I have no time for this foolishness.” (On Peta)

“The moment you stop and think about your past, the magic starts to fade. Change is the healthiest way to survive.”

“Chanel is an institution, and you have to treat an institution like a whore—and then you get something out of her.”

“Yes, some people say to me you’re too skinny, but never a skinny person says that to me, only people who could lose a few pounds say that.”

“Ugh! With his big smile and gestures, he reminds me of a sales assistant in a Midwest department store – make that on the seventh floor.” (When asked what he thinks of Michael Kors)

“Oh please, how can she be in business with Gucci while posturing in this overly dramatic way? It’s deeply hypocritical of her…Everyone knows Gucci has made zillions of dollars by working with leather.” (On Stella McCartney being animal friendly)

“I have no human feelings”

(frillr)

– PL

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Love his straightforwardness!

Comment by Anna




Leave a Reply

